Home > Awards


Social Responsiveness Award Recipient

Year Recipient
2009 Gender, Health and Justice Research Unit (Faculty of Health Sciences)
Professor Di McIntyre (Faculty of Health Sciences)
Disaster Mitigation for Sustainable Development Project (Faculty of Science)
2010 Dr Andrea Rother (Faculty of Health Sciences)
2011 Rural Women’s Action Research (Faculty of Law
The Southern Africa Food Lab (GSB, Faculty of Commerce)
2012 Environmental Evaluation Unit (Faculty of Science)
Associate Professor Mohamed Adhikari (Faculty of Humanities)
2013 Professor Pierre de Vos (Faculty of Law)
2014 Sophie Oldfield (Faculty of Science
Stuart Hendry (Faculty of Commerce)
2015 BERTHA CENTRE FOR SOCIAL INNOVATION & ENTREPRENEURSHIP (Graduate School of Business, Faculty of Commerce)
Associate Professor Roshan Galvaan and Liesl Peters (Health Sciences Faculty)
2017 The Schools Improvement Initiative (SII)
2018 The South African Tuberculosis Vaccine Initiative (SATVI)
2019 'Mzantsi Wakho'
Dr Rebecca Hodes


Alan Pifer Research Award

The Alan Pifer Research Award is the Vice-Chancellor's annual prize in recognition of outstanding welfare-related research. It highlights the strategic goal of promoting socially responsive research, and honours a UCT researcher whose outreach work has contributed to the advancement and welfare of South Africa's disadvantaged people.

View Alan Pifer Research Award Winners »